TLC Book Tours: The Illusionist's Apprentice by Kristy Cambron (Review + Book Giveaway!)



The Story:
Wren Lockhart, apprentice to master illusionist Harry Houdini, uses life on a vaudeville stage to escape the pain of her past. She continues her career of illusion after her mentor’s death, intent on burying her true identity.

But when a rival performer’s act goes tragically wrong, the newly formed FBI calls on Wren to speak the truth—and reveal her real name to the world. She transfers her skills for misdirection from the stage to the back halls of vaudeville, as she finds herself the unlikely partner in the FBI’s investigation. All the while Houdini’s words echo in her mind: Whatever occurs, the crowd must believe it’s what you meant to happen. She knows that if anyone digs too deep, secrets long kept hidden may find their way to the surface—and shatter her carefully controlled world.

Set during one of the richest, most vibrant eras in American history, this Jazz Age novel of illusion, suspense, and forgotten pasts is perfect for fans of The Magician’s Lie, challenging all to find the underpinnings of faith on their own life’s stage.


ISBN: 9780718041502 | $15.99 USD | March 7, 2017 | Thomas Nelson Publishers



Say "Hi!" to Kristy on her website, Twitter, or Facebook!

My Thoughts:
Please give me all of the books set during the Jazz Age. Stories that take place during such a pivotal time in the country, are a must-read for me! The Ringmaster's Wife, Kristy Cambron's previous story set in the 1920s was one of my favorite books of 2016, so I had high hopes for The Illusionist's Apprentice. I was not disappointed. Cambron pens a novel that pulls at the heartstrings and sets a brisk pace that does not let up till the last page!

Jenny "Wren" Lockhart is an illusionist on par with her former mentor, the famed Harry Houdini. She's terrific at keeping her audience from guessing the truth behind her act and keeping the truth of her past hidden from the FBI and Agent Elliot Matthews. Agent Matthews is determined to chisel away her illusionist's facade to solve the mystery of the death of Victor Peale and the hurt hidden in Wren's eyes. In the process, both learn that even the most skilled hands can be deceived and hope can come when they least expect it.

The Illusionist's Apprentice is a journey through the streets of Boston and the underbelly of vaudeville. With threads of abuse, murder, betrayal, this certainly isn't your typical fluff fiction, but rather a story that explores hurts as well as learning to trust and believe in the good.  Cambron has yet another winner of a book on her hands with this one!

~ My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars ~

*I receive complimentary books from publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*

Book Giveaway!


Happy Reading!


Comments

  1. I don't really have a favorite time period to read about. The era isn't as important to me as the characters and the plot. I like to read a variety of time periods and genres.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for hosting this giveaway! I'll add it to my blog's sidebar. I'm glad you enjoyed this book, Renee. Excellent review, as usual.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I totally agree about Jazz Age books - what a fascinating time to read about!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I like the time period of the 1800 hundreds. In both British and American settings. Just has a certain aura about it.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

I love your comments, keep 'em coming!!!

Popular posts from this blog

The Sound of Silver by Rachelle Rea Cobb Birthday Blog Tour + Giveaway!

Poldark Season Three Teaser Trailer!

TLC Book Tours: The Daredevil Snared by Stephanie Laurens (Review + Giftcard Giveaway!)