For Fans of Women's Fiction: That Certain Summer by Irene Hannon

That Certain Summer
by Irene Hannon
Copyright 2013
Revell Books
ISBN: 9780800722494
The Story:
Two very different sisters . . . an unexpected homecoming . . . one unforgettable summer

Karen and Val are family-yet they're anything but close. Karen has carried the burden of responsibility for her aging mother ever since her sister left town years ago to pursue a career in theater. But Val had other reasons for moving away-as well as a secret to keep-and coming home has never been an option . . . until their mother suffers a stroke.

Reunited in their hometown, Karen and Val must grapple with past mistakes as they care for their ailing mother. When two handsome men enter the picture, the summer takes on a surprising new dimension. As their lives intersect, can each of them learn how to forgive, let go, and move on? And strengthened by the healing power of faith, might they also find the courage to love?

My Thoughts:
This past week I was relaxing on the beaches of North Carolina. To keep myself entertained while reclining in the sand next to the ocean, as any good book worm would do, I chose to take a few books with me! Irene Hannon's That Certain Summer was the book that called to me the most so it's the book I put in my tote bag everyday. While it wasn't the best story I've ever read, I liked it. It wasn't exactly a "beachy" read but it was quick and entertaining. They weren't poorly written or unlikable in any way but the main characters, Karen, a middle-aged divorcee and Val, a stunning model who was filled with regret about a tough choice she made as a teen weren't easy for me to connect with. I think if I were older I would have found their stories easier to relate to. That said, I did enjoy the little peeks at the romances that blossomed for each of the sisters. I almost feel like I wanted to know more about Karen and Val and that maybe if they had each had their own book things could have been explored further and not seemed as forced or rushed at the end. All in all this was a good book but I think if I were to recommend Ms. Hannon's books, I'd start with her Guardians of Justice series.

~ My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars ~

“Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*

Meet Irene:
Irene Hannon is the author of more than 35 novels, including the bestselling Heroes of Quantico and Guardians of Justice series. Her books have been honored with two coveted RITA Awards from Romance Writers of America, a Carol Award, a HOLT Medallion, a Daphne du Maurier Award, and two Reviewers' Choice Awards from RT Book Reviews magazine. Booklist also included one of her novels in its "Top 10 Inspirational Fiction" list for 2011. She lives in Missouri.

For more information about her and her books, Irene invites you to visit her website at www.irenehannon.com.

Happy Reading!


Comments

  1. Sounds pretty good and right up my alley.

    ReplyDelete
  2. How lovely to relax on the beach in NC with a good book! I'm glad you enjoyed this, Renee. Very nice review, as usual.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yay! What fun - a beach vacation. Does it get more relaxing that that, Renee!? ;)

    Looking forward to this book.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

I love your comments, keep 'em coming!!!

Popular posts from this blog

TLC Book Tours: The Daredevil Snared by Stephanie Laurens (Review + Giftcard Giveaway!)

Radiant Lit Blog Tour: Jilted by Varina Denman

The Sound of Silver by Rachelle Rea Cobb Birthday Blog Tour + Giveaway!